NIGHTMARE IN CRIMSON….A POEM

I LAY  IN MY BED MY EYES WIDE AND UNBLINKING

MY MIND TWISTING AND TURNING ,CONTORTED BY MY TORTURED THINKING

IMAGES FROM THE DEPTH OF MY SOUL,CREATURES THAT CRAWL FROM BEHIND THE WALL OF SLEEP

FILL MY SKULL  AND PUSH TEARS FROM MY EYES ,MY GOD THEY MAKE ME WEEP!

A BLOOD FILLED ROOM ,A SILVER KNIFE, DEMON SPAWN COME TO LIFE.

PALE FACE WITH BLACK HOLES FOR EYES…..

A WRETCHED  BROKEN GOD WITH A MOUTH FULL OF LIES

STARES AT ME FROM HIS THRONE OF BONES….

HIS KINGDOM IS AN ABBATOIR…..HIS CROWN IS SHAPED FROM THE SORROW OF ANGELS BEREFT OF LAUGHTER

HE BECKONS TO ME WITH  A JAUNDICED FINGER  ,THE TIP DRIPS WITH BLACK ICHOR

I WALK TOWARD THIS  ETERNAL  EVIL,THIS SACRELIGIOUS TRICKSTER…

HE OPENS HIS MOUTH ,HIS YELLOW FANGS  ROTTED FROM HIS DISENGEOUS VOICE

CORRUPTION SPILLS FORTH FROM HIS NOXIOUS GULLET ,AND HE TELLS ME  I HAVE A CHOICE

 “YOU ARE LIKE A COIN ,TWO SIDES THAT MAKE A WHOLE

WHAT ROAD WILL YOU WALK .WHAT TALES ABOUT YOU WILL BE TOLD?” HE  SAYS TO ME .

THE SOUND OUT OF HIS MOUTH IS RAZOR BLADES TO MY EARS,MY EYES WISH THEY COULD GO BLIND SO THAT I COULD NOT SEE….

IN THIS VAST CAVERVNOUS  HALL OF  DOOM AND DESPAIR..I SEE INHUMANITY EVERYWHERE 

TAPESTRIES MADE OF HUMAN SKIN HANG FROM THE WALLS TATTOOED WITH THE SCREAMING MAD FACES OF THE DAMNED

I KNOW THIS IS A NECROCROPLIS,A LIVING DEAD LAND….

THE WALLS FALL AWAY ,THE DEMON KING DISINEGRATES LIKE  SHIFTING SAND

A MIRROR STANDS BEFORE ME  AND SHOWS THE IMAGE OF AN ANCIENT MAN

HIS FACE IS LINED LIKE GRANITE GRAVES

HIS SKIN IS BLACKEND LIKE HELLS SLAVES

HE LOOKS AT ME AND STARES INTO MY EYES..

“TRIS IS THE WORLD YOU HAVE CREATED  ,THIS NIGHTMARE IS OF YOUR OWN MAKING….THIS IS THE WORLD YOU DREAM OF WHEN YOUR WAKING…”

I HOWL IN RAGE ,IN FEAR ,IN SHAME ,I SHATTER THE MIRROR WITH MY FIST AND  GROWL MY OWN NAME

I sit straight up in my bed ,

The morning sun creep through my window as I hang my  head…

Published by: S.A.Cosby

i am a writer ,poet and aspiring author. I write because I have to....it's not something I do it's something I AM........I would love to hear from other aspiring authors.......

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

